Tags

, , ,

(Because I’ve been spending more time with book-people than people-people, these days.)

~ The Mentor Who Doesn’t Die

And you keep expecting it. Like, every time the characters are in a pinch you’re reading through your fingers like, “This is it. This is it. This is where he gets his head cut off.”

But then he survives. ‘Cause he’s the mentor and he’s

Just.

That.

Awesome.

~ The Main Character Who Asks for Help

I ALONE WILL SAVE THE WORLD.

Wait, no. That’s a terrible idea.

I WILL ASSEMBLE A TEAM OF EXPERTS AND WE WILL SAVE THE WORLD ‘CAUSE THAT’S THE SMART THING WHEN THE FATE OF THE WORLD IS AT STAKE.

Yeah, that’s the smart thing. You go, Main Character.

~ The Character Who is Happy in Their Relationship

Single? I’m cool with that.

Married? I’m cool with that.

Let’s get back to riding dragons.

~ The Funny Sidekick Who is Actually Funny

Not trying to be funny, but actually being funny. This is tough – I get it – but I don’t care.

Make me laugh. I want to laugh. I at least want to smile. If I’m reading a book and I realize none of the characters have made me laugh, or smile, or given me a single reason to even giggle a little bit, I feel cheated. And sad.

Don’t make me sad. That is, don’t make me sad with a character who is supposed to make me laugh.

~ The Siblings that Don’t Always Fight

You know, the ones that love each other and don’t constantly express this love by squabbling all the time. Squabbling gets boring. Work together. Partner up. Show support. Share inside jokes. I have siblings.I don’t always hate them all the time.

659_555106774509733_946321801_n

We’re not LARPing. You’re LARPing. Shut up.

 

~ The One Who is Hope

I don’t mean the one who is the last hope for the galaxy.

(ALTHOUGH HE IS PRETTY GREAT TOO)

I mean the one who, when she walks on stage, makes you breath a relieved sigh: “Now it’s going to be okay. I don’t know how, but she’s here. She’s going to fix everything.”

And of course she (or he) isn’t going to fix everything – there’d be no story if everything gets fixed every time a certain character walks on stage. But I love characters that bring hope with them – like a great blaze lighting up the darkness.

“I’m here – what are we waiting for? Let’s roll.”

=]

Those are some of my favorites. You?